Our People

Binaytara Foundation Cancer Center (BTFCC) Clinical Staff

Sanjay Gupta, MD 

Dr. Sanjay Gupta is the chief of cancer prevention, early detection, and palliative care programs at the Binaytara Foundation Cancer Center. Dr. Gupta earned his MBBS at B.P. Koirala Institute of Health Sciences in Nepal in 2012, and completed MDGP from the same institution. He said he is excited to join the BTFCC and contribute to cancer prevention and early detection as well as palliative care services in the region. “We will have a huge positive impact on the quality of life in this region,” he said.  Dr. Gupta is supported by a team of highly qualified medical officers, nursing staff, and other healthcare providers in this department.

Pamesh Jha, MD

An alumnus of Janaki Secondary Boarding School, Janakpur, Dr. Jha graduated with a medical degree from the Chongqing Medical University, China. He completed his residency in general surgery from Kathmandu University.  Prior to joinig BTFCC, he was a lecturer in General Surgery Department at Nobel Medical College, Biratnagar. Dr. Pamesh says, “Janakpur is the capital of province no 2 and is the most undeveloped state in Nepal. I am thankful for the opportunity to serve patients in my hometown.” He wants to establish himself as one of the most dedicated surgeon in the field on oncology. He says “I feel satisfied after seeing patients improve” He is fluent in Nepali, English, Maithili, Hindi and Chinese.

Richa Mishra, MD

Dr.  Richa Mishra is an anesthesiologist who brings her experience of working in anesthesia, ICU, and surgery departments to the BTFCC. Dr. Mishra is a grduate of Kathmandu Medical College and she completed residency in anesthesia from Kathmandu University. Dr. Mishra is interested in patient care, teaching, and research.

Anshu Kumar Thakur, MD

Dr. Anshu Kumar Thakur joined the BTFCC in April 2019 as a full-time oncologist. A graduate of Janaki Medical College, Dr. Thakur completed a five-year fellowship in clinical oncology from Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Medical University, Dhaka, Bangladesh. Dr. Thakur is trained in both medical oncology and radiation oncology. He is also interested in clinical research and teaching/learning to improve patient care. 

Sanjeev Thakur, MD

Dr. Sanjeev Kumar Thakur is an Otolaryngologist who completed his MBBS in 2001 as well as an Otolarygology residency in 2006 from the BP Koirala Institute of Health Sciences, Dharan, Nepal. He has a special interest in community work and serving the underprivileged. His area of surgical interest is head and neck surgery and skull base surgery. Dr. Thakur is a BTFCC volunteer and heads the BTFCC clinical operations as the Chief Medical Officer and oversees the otolaryngology department.

Saurav Karna, MBBS

Dr. Saurav Karna is an Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeon with expertise in Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology & Facial Trauma Surgery. Prior to joining the BTFCC, Dr. Karna practiced as an Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeon at the Craniofacial Center, Janakpur. Dr. Karna will focus on developing a head and neck oncology program at the BTFCC.

Yogendra P Singh, MD

Dr. Yogendra P Singh is professor of surgical oncology at Trubhuvan University teaching hospital Institute of Medicine, Maharajgunj, Kathmandu. He completed MBBS from Tribhuvan University and MD from Kansai Medical University, Osaka, Japan. Dr. Singh has published more than 50 scientific papers in peer reviewed journals. A nationally renowned physician, Dr. Singh is a sought after speaker for his expertise in breast cancer.

See next page for the Binaytara Foundation Cancer Center (BTFCC) Advisory Committee

Scroll to Top